It looks like Slow Down Molasses, the Saskatoon dream-pop band, never really stop working. Just over a year after the release of their third album, Burnt Black Cars, the five piece have announced the release of a new record, 100% Sunshine, on Sept. 2. In the meantime, the five-piece have released “Moon Queen,” first track off the new album.

“Moon Queen,” which was mixed by Tony Doogan (known for his work with Mogwai and Belle & Sebastian,) is a strong statement from a band that has reached the balance between a hazy and forceful sound. By bringing the two together, this first song from 100% Sunshine fittingly represents the moving force behind the album: The extremes that come by being born and living on the Canadian prairies – a blissful summer dream and harsh winters – that need each other despite their antagonism. Through their new music, Slow Down Molasses acknowledge the trick is to always bring out the most of both, despite the tongue-in-cheek feeling this thought can instill.

The upcoming album is the first to be released with a steady lineup, rather than a coming-and-going of musicians that earned them the “Broken Social Scene of the prairies” nickname from Exclaim!. “As a result there was some serious live energy to the writing and recording of this album,” singer and guitarist Tyson McShane told OurBasement.

Joining McShane are bassist Chris Morin, Jordan Kurtz on drums, guitarist/keyboardist Aaron Scholz and Levi Soulodre on guitar. Keyboardist Jeanette Stewart will not join the band in the supporting tour for 100% Sunshine, but she was part of the recording process and provided the last track on the upcoming album.

100% Sunshine – the artwork for which was created by Mike Dawson of Library Voices – is available for pre-order via Noyes Records. If you feel the need to have a piece of physical music on your hands before then, Slow Down Molasses are throwing a sale on their Bandcamp, where you can find vinyl for $10, CD’s for $6 and a bundle with four releases for just $20.