It’s time for another Release Radar playlist! And not just one playlist but two playlists this month! Along with our usual Spotify Release Radar playlist, there is a YouTube new video release playlist. Are you excited? I am!

An email about Electro pop trio NEW CITY releasing their new video for “Getting Closer” arrived in my mailbox last month and that was the start of me making the YouTube playlist. I thought there would just be a few to add to it, but the more I searched the more I found. It is at nearly 75 tracks for videos released in the last couple months now. Some of the tracks in the videos can be found on the Spotify playlist but overall the playlists are quite different.

The Spotify Release Radar playlist is a bit shorter this month because it has actually only been 3 weeks since the last one. I bumped it up a bit for a Polaris Music Prize Long list playlist that will be out next week. I was excited about many tracks on the list, like the ones from Danny Michel, Foxtrott, Bob Moses, The Dirty Nil and more.

For Esme, Donovan Woods, Coeur de Pirate and Neko Case all had more tracks for us to enjoy this month as well. The Saskatchewan artists with new tracks are Bears In Hazenmore and the Dagan Harding Band. I didn’t find Dagan’s track on Spotify or YouTube yet, but you can listen to the tracks on their Bandcamp.


Toronto art-pop band Goosebump (riyl Nap Eyes, Weaves, etc) just released the second single, “She Don’t Say Goodbye”, from their upcoming album. Goosebump’s core songwriting duo is Paul Erlichman and Neil Rankin who have been involved in the Toronto avant pop scene for years. The upcoming self-titled album highlights the duo’s individual growth and the way they’ve grown closer together as collaborators. It showcases a hard-won sense of accomplishment and identity. Their self titled album is out July 6th on Pleasence Records.Neil on the new song:
Lyrically it’s a meditation on saying goodbye to someone despite them being right in front of you and them not really saying anything. A light bit of disco for you to groove to. 

A native of Northern Ontario, Reed has undertaken many creative ventures and this album, his second as a solo act, is the most recent. ‘Dark Areas of Description’, in comparison to Reed’s previous album The November Gales, is a journey through uncharted waters while simultaneously being true to his folk roots.

In Reed’s consistency in keeping true to both themes of experimentation and traditional folk, you’ll find yourself floating through the droning, space-like sounds of the opening track and being gently pulled back to the ground with the familiar voices of the harmonica in the following tracks. It is safe to say that wherever you are while listening to this album, you won’t be there for long as you’re lead to the many places, emotions and stories Reed shares through his craft. With a mixture of dark undertones, upbeat folk tunes and introspective lyrics, there is something for everyone in this eclectic album. The new album is out on So Sorry Records.


NEW CITY with their new video “Getting Closer” – The recent signees to Mosley (Timbaland’s new label) and Universal, saw immediate success with their debut single “Coachella” amassing nearly two million streams, and their second track “Dirty Secrets” well passed that mark. With club beats, pop hooks, live guitars and drums, the band is unapologetic about their pursuit of a good time with their electro party pop songs that perfectly soundtrack the carefree spirit of today’s generation.”Getting Closer” represents the ups and downs that come with chasing dreams and the courage it takes to trust yourself – a declaration of empowerment. Check out the video at the start of the playlist below.


Enjoy the playlists!