We haven’t heard much from Richard Laviolette recently but he just announced plans for a new LP. Following up 2010’s All of Your Raw Materials with the Oil Spills, Laviolette will release Taking the Long Way Home on March 10 through You’ve Changed Records.

This will be Laviolette’s fourth album, hearing him deliver a set of classic country-tinged songs intended “to warm the heart as well as the dancefloor.”

Andy Magoffin of the Two-Minute Miracles produced the 11-song offering that features Lisa Bozikovic on piano, Matthew Reeves on lead guitar, Jessy Bell Smith (Skydiggers) on vocal harmonies, Julia Narveson (Ever Lovin’ Jug Band, Lake of Stew) on fiddle and double bass, Aaron Goldstein (Cowboy Junkies, Bry Webb, Daniel Romano) on pedal steel, Heather Kirby (Ohbijou, Vag Halen) on electric bass, and Aaron Curtis (Two-Minute Miracles) on drums.

Initially started as a document of Richard’s own experience with health issues, the album’s title track, “Taking the Long Way Home”, it has “come to represent the roads we all end up on in our lives.”