Astral Swans – Strange Prison

Within seconds of hitting play on Astral Swans’ latest album, Strange Prison, listeners are transported directly into the psyche of singer-songwriter Matthew Swann: “I had a dream in which I killed all my friends/ they weren’t able to forgive, they weren’t able to forget.”(CBC Music)

Dana Sipos – Trick of the Light

Hamilton folk artist, Dana Sipos, has just announced her sophomore album. Trick of the Light is set to drop on May 18th via Roaring Girl Records. Dana has also released the lead single from the record, “Blue Ridge.” You can listen to the song on Dana’s SoundCloud page. The track is also available for instant download with a preorder of the upcoming album.(Canadian Beats)

Frog Eyes – Violet Psalms

It’s fitting that Frog Eyes intends for Violet Psalms to be their last album: it sounds like the end of the world. The Canadian band’s eighth LP burns with an apocalyptic intensity that feels final and definitive, like some dire prophecy has come to pass.(Paste Music)

Jay Douglas – Lovers Paradise (Best Of)

Michael Rault – It’s a New Day Tonight

Taking its title from a pre-game interview with a hockey player after a bad night, Montreal-based Michael Rault’s second full-length (and debut, in the U.S., for Daptone’s rock-oriented Wick imprint) is a paean to nocturnal renewal, and many of its songs reference sleep.(Exclaim!)

Pharis & Jason Romero – Sweet Old Religion

There’s something so deliciously pure about what happens when Pharis and Jason Romero make music together. From the first notes of “Sweet Old Religion,” the opening tune and title track of their latest album, it’s hard to turn your ears away. Their guitar interplay on the track sets a walking two-chord progression against a creek-flowing lead line, then in come their perfectly matched vocals.(Folk Alley)

POSTDATA – Let’s Be Wilderness

Wintersleep frontman Paul Murphy recently revived his Postdata project, announcing an upcoming album titled Let’s Be Wilderness. Now, Exclaim! is giving you an early listen to the album in its entirety.[Canada Only](Exclaim!)

The Holy Gasp – The Love Songs Of Oedipus Rex